User Reviews for: Foursquare

Twohundred

Foursquare

  • iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch
  • Category: Social Networking, Travel
  • I own this app
4.0 of 5 bars
Submit your rating!

Location - checked!

  • Posted by metaio August 02, 2012

Nice way to check into a place and share your location. I like the fact that you can see where are your friends and in case you end up in the same area is always nice to have a spontaneous meet up. Fun app. Works great even in smaller countries with not so many fancy locations.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

5 out of 5

  • Posted by GalinaDi July 20, 2012
  • Recommended for Parents, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Shopaholics or Social Butterflies

I joke that this is the app to know where NOT to go. But to put the jokes down, the app is so much better than the browser-version. Well, it was intended, and a good job is done. I personally liked to browse through places nearby my house to see what are they like inside, what people write about the service and else.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

New explore feature is great

  • Posted by albertc July 16, 2012
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Music Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I used Foursquare sparingly in the past to mainly share my location with my friends. However, with the new version of Foursquare, I find myself using it to find cool new locations and places to go when I'm traveling.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Browse Around

  • Posted by natrodgers July 05, 2012
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Parents, Students, Career People or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Perfect for discovering new places wherever you are. Exploring is really easy with the app's recommendations, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Its not just an app, it is Addiction

  • Posted by dreamz February 29, 2012
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Book Readers, Gamers, Workout Junkies, Parents, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Sports Fans, Film/TV Fans or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

To be very honest, yes - i am addicted to Foursquare. The maximum i scored is like 400+ with 2600+ check ins and 65 mayorship. That's not too much though - i have seen even more crazier fans then myself but still i believe it is too much.

The reason for its addiction is the utility of app itself. Now if i visit a new place, i read the tips first and then order my food accordingly. The other thing is obviously the competition of gaining the mayorship obviously.

Apart from several likes and making up new friends there, this app has some major bugs. Sometime i cheat my friends by checking into wrong places with in few meters and it lets me check in without any hurdle, rest the interface need some major improvement. The theme is more like Facebook and Twitter which is kinda boring now. I hope FourSquare development team will work on it.

Rest obviously, there are loads of suggestions for the app - the Leaderboard can be improve by showing previous stats of checkins, average checkins in a day and several other options. The app gives intelligent responses, like for example when i check in after a long time, is alerts me and give me bonus points for checking in again. I think a lot of more work can be done on that as well.

Cutting it all short, this app is an addiction. Hope FS team will work on its look and feel soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

addicting

  • Posted by angelina August 01, 2011
  • Recommended for Foodies, Parents, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies, Sports Fans or Film/TV Fans

This is another app which caused craze in social networking. This app uses the Iphone built -in GPS to show resturants, bars, parks, gyms, and other locations. when you visit any of those locations you can check in and which with let all your friends know about it and also allow them to find you in order to meet with you. You will earn points with app and as you check in more somtimes you can become a mayor . Over all this is a very addicting app and I have been using it alot , almost as much as face book or twitter .

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Foursquare has officially become annoying!

  • Posted by randycafe April 25, 2011
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I've finally come to the end of the line with you Foursquare! Checking into places to be the mayor with the promise of specials that never materialize, and spamming my Twitter and Facebook followers has gotten old (I can hear my followers rejoicing now!). I think the next hot app will provide value in telling you who's at the event or place you are, and not who's been there before.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

newly addicted to checking in

  • Posted by girlgeek25 April 16, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

they are being very clever about new feedback they give users, like "this is your 2nd diner since March 2010" and that kind of thing, so it kind of becomes a personal journal. also the airport tips easily for confusing airports like LAX tend to be brilliant...

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Highly recommended!

I love foursquare. It's quite addictive!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Close but

The new update made much sense but I still expect a lot more to make this useful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Explore different places, earn rewards

  • Posted by Walrooz0828 September 18, 2010
  • Recommended for Outdoors Enthusiasts, Shopaholics, Career People, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Foursquare app is a location based social application that let your friends know where you are and vice versa. As you check-in to different places, you collect badges, points, discounts and eventually coupons in going about your everyday business. It has a very user friendly interface, and the best of this is, the app is FREE!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Awesome on phones...not so much on iPad

  • Posted by CupcakesAndCode September 06, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I'm a fan of foursquare -- the concept is cool, the mayoral battles are entertaining, and there's something totally gratifying about unlocking new badges.

I'm not a fan of the fact that the app developers decided against an iPad version. Sure, lots of people tote their phones around, and check in via smaller devices, but the iPad contingent enjoys checking in, too!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

cool

very fun to use and show off to your friends! esp if your the mayor of that place lol!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

just checkin

  • Posted by jerrylieveld August 21, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Gamers, Career People or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

just great for checking in every where I go and see your footprint. love the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

good for geeks without friends

  • Posted by JackPatrick August 09, 2010
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

So the tech on this is good and the application runs smoothly and gets the job done. That said, in reality, close to NO ONE you know is on it. If everyone was, it would be great.

Foursquare is full of techie geek men who check into gas stations and urinals and NO attractive females (sorry foursquare girls). I don't know about you, but I'm using apps like these to find where the action is, girls are, and to let my friends know what i'm doing. The Hotlist app that I just tried this weekend is good for that -- all of my facebook friends and a LOT of hot girls -- and gowalla is better than both foursquare and the hotlist in terms of design / ease of use. Just my 2 cents...

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Why Foursquare rocks social geo-location.

  • Posted by gravesy July 27, 2010
  • Recommended for Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Music Fans, Career People, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I was a big fan+user of Dodgeball (before Google bought it then shut it down) back in the day, so was very happy when Foursquare came to life. Realize some people are weary of letting people know where they are, but let's clarify a couple things and let you know some things that have helped 4Sq work for me...

One, all information is self reported. If you don't want people to know where you are, then don't check in. Simple :) It's not Big Brother. You can even check in, but hide your whereabouts. I've found having a breadcrumb trail of my adventures around the city to be really useful and fun. It's helped me remember restaurants and places I've been, so I can visit (or avoid) in the future.

The more friends you have using it, the more fun it is. I am finding Foursquare increasingly better as more and more of my friends use it. I get to know them a little better and more options of places/people to spontaneously discover!

Use/add to the Tips/Tips Nearby feature. I've surprised some of my friends, sounding like a local/insider, because I knew about Breakfast of Champions flavored icecream at Slocombe's, even though I've never been.

Use Foursquare as a way to meet new people in person + catalyze relationships! Foursquare has facilitated more than one serendipitous crossing of paths in real life. Most recently, I received a checkin from someone who I had only really knew via Twitter and Facebook. She was a half mile from me, at the same festival. Because of 4Sq, we were able to meet up spontaneously, and get to hang out in person. Face-to-face time, even if brief, changes everything.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

You know you want to check in, anywhere, every where...

  • Posted by timothymclain July 23, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Students, Outdoors Enthusiasts, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Get in the game! Foursquare is leading the "check in" craze, letting you tell your friends, Twitter followers, and Facebook friends know where you are at any given moment.

Heading out for a night on the town? When you land at your favorite water hole, click "check in" to let your social media followers know where you are.

Heck, some might even see it and join you. Or not! Them more places you check in, the more unique badges you'll receive. Addicting!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

But, But People Will Rob Me!

  • Posted by jessicadally July 10, 2010
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I've heard so much negative press about FourSquare that I just have to giggle. Tell people where you are? Then they'll know you're not at home and they'll rob you. If your friends are those kinds of people then maybe you should look into getting better friends (is there an app for that?).

As others have said, it's definitely an addicting app and more importantly at conferences and other networking opportunities it can be quite useful. Plus with businesses getting on board and offering deals you'll see more and more ways to save via FourSquare. Just be patient, according to a local business owner friend of mine hearing back from FourSquare when you want to get a deal going takes time. Apparently they are very busy with applications. Too bad, I'm the mayor of that particular business!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

its hip to be (four)square

  • Posted by joe_bidness May 22, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I'm not gonna lie, I was resistant to this app when it first came out. I didn't see the point, and I also didn't want certain people to know where I was at all times. Then my girlfriend and I downloaded it...and now we're all about it. Funny how those things happen! It's a blast though, you should give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

For the Addicts

  • Posted by doniree May 19, 2010
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

You either love it or you hate it. I LOVE foursquare. I love getting tips from my friends on nearby places, seeing what venues and bars are trending when I'm traveling or when events are going on, and just having a record of the places I've been.

Functionality is quick and easy to navigate, you can see your friends from the app, can see where your mayorships are, and you can see and respond to friend requests.

The geo-targeting software isn't perfect as I have to search for the place I'm physically IN more often than not because it's not in the list as it should be.

Over all though? Keeps you connected to the whole foursquare experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Fun game, and useful!

  • Posted by chucksax May 11, 2010
  • Recommended for Gamers, Parents, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I started using this because it was kind of fun to "check in" to different places. I continue to use this because I spend so much time away from home and have my wife and two small children at home. With this, they know where I am at any given point without having to call, which is comforting to all of us. There's been a couple of times when I've stopped on my way home for some errands, and my wife prevented worry by looking at my Facebook page to find out where I was!

(Plus, I'm the mayor of 25 different places, including 3 different Dunkin Donuts. That's just cool.)

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

App has gotten clunkier

  • Posted by fuadar April 29, 2010

This was a good app but the newer version puts in much more steps to checkins Which is not cool

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best Location-based App

  • Posted by timworks April 27, 2010
  • Recommended for Music Fans, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I find this app quite addictive! It is fun to unlock badges... I don't know why!! It's also very handy to be able to find quick tips around an area or venue as I'm out and about in various cities. Great app! A must have!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Can see the potential

  • Posted by travelfish April 21, 2010
  • Recommended for Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I can really see the potential in this. It seems to be gathering critical mass in the US, but here in Indonesia it has a long way to go -- good things come to those who wait I guess. The latest "tip" nearby to me was made 11 days ago, but it's still a good tip - I'll go a fair way for a good soto betawi! Huge potential. App is easy to use and just makes sense.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

foursquare :: progress

  • Posted by sharakarasic March 18, 2010
  • Recommended for Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I think foursquare kicked ass at SXSW this year by adding event-specific badges and progress bars. So for example, once the app knew you were in Austin, it showed you progress bars for parties, panels, places, friends, badges. As you checked-in to venues, you would see your progress improve, and it was really addicting. The other masterful game-dynamic stroke was to surprise with unexpected but delightful badges, such as the Porky badge after I checked in to Ironworks BBQ, an Austin institution, or the Fixin' Wagon badge after eating at taco truck Torchie's, another Austin tradition. There was even a Swarm badge for checking in at a place with hundreds of people at the same time. foursquare really added to the SXSW fun in a very smart way.

0 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Foursquare: Not as lame as I thought

  • Posted by jenniferbeese March 18, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Gamers or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I tried Foursquare about a year ago, but didn't see the point. I downloaded the app this year for sxsw and I can't tell you how quickly I became attached to it.

Checking in is easy as the app finds locations near you. If it doesn't exist, you can add it. Once checked in, you can see everyone else at that location. It's a little creepy thinking that strangers can see your whereabouts, but for a convention like SXSW, this is a must-have app.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Not good for Canada

Like BoomTown, this app doesn't go so well in places like Canada where there aren't so many people.

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great fun

  • Posted by moose85 January 14, 2010

Lots of fun but only good in big cities.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Don't miss the Foursquare party

Over the past month or so I’ve had a similar feeling as I had back in April 2008. At the begging of April 08 I was evangelizing the use of Twitter. It wasn’t popular, it was “nerdy”, Ashton, Oprah, and Tila Tequila were not yet dominating the service but I saw value in it and I wanted my friends and colleagues to be early to the game. I got a lot of push back at the time but overtime people began to try it out. Now my entire family and my fiance’s entire family is on Twitter and they love it. I have tons of friends on Twitter and everyone finds it valuable and useful. Many of them have become evangelists for the service themselves, they love it, I might even say obsessed.

By no means am I taking credit for the growth of Twitter over the last year and a half but I do feel pretty good about the fact that I recognized it’s value early. I’m attempting to do that again.

I need you to join Foursquare. Even if you think it’s a waste of time or “nerdy”, I’m trying to help you avoid being late to the party…again. There are a few key reasons that lead me to believe Foursquare will be huge, at least huge enough for the non-internet person to benefit from. A few of those reason are the huge potential that is location based applications, it’s fun and non-internet people can see why they’d want to join it, and it helps cities work better.

ScreenHunter_02 Sep. 22 12.21The way Foursquare works is, you go to a venue (bar, restaurant, park, etc.) and check in. Once you’ve checked in Foursquare awards you points and tallies the amount of times that you’ve checked in there. You’ll receive more points at more popular places and if you’re the person who’s checked in at that venue the most you’ll become the mayor. Also, by checking in to multiple venues and checking in often you receive badges for your check ins. The competitive mood of the game works incredibly well for it’s distribution and is quickly addicting.

Here’s why it has so much potential.

1) Location

Location will be is huge for the same reason Twitter blew up; it’s ability to connect people and provide value to them. Twitter allows you to be connected with people regardless of their location, but imagine the benefit of knowing more accurately and more timely the things that are happening in your area, now. This works between friends on a personal level (where is Ryan, I want to hang out) and with businesses on a public level (where is Ryan, I want to know what he likes).

2) It’s fun

I’ve only been on Foursquare for a few months and I always make sure I can check in to the venues I’m going to. I don’t want to miss out on getting the points and raising the ranks in Chicago and amongst my friends on Fsq. I currently hold 4 mayorships, at my local bar, coffee shop, restaurant, and condo complex. I find myself defaulting to the places I’m the mayor because I want to keep the title. I became the mayor because I like going to these venues but it works backwards too. I really enjoy knowing what bars and restaurant my friends hit up even though I’m not with them and more than once I’ve used Foursquare to meetup with friends and it’ll only get better the more folks are on it.

3) Your life improves

Sorry to reference Fred Wilson again, but he recently wrote a post on Urban architecture and how services like Foursquare make cities easier to use. In short, this type of service makes your life easier. They’ve recently, and much more aggressively than Twitter, found a revenue opportunity. They’ve launched Foursquare for business that will allow venues to provide deals to the mayors and advertise to the patrons. They may even be able to learn about their customers and what other venues they attend. Can you say partnerships?

Early this month Foursquare announced that they would be taking an initial stage of funding from Union Square Ventures & O’Reily Alpha Tech Ventures. I’m encourage that Foursquare will grow to build some amazing things with their $1.35mm that they’ve raised.

Even if you think the location thing is still ‘creepy’ or the extra effort to connect Foursquare to Twitter isn’t worth it, please signup. Whether you don’t have an iPhone or Blackberry, that’s not an excuse either, I use Foursquare through SMS and it’s great. If you don’t sign-up now you’ll be coming back to this blog post in 3 or 4 months saying dang, I wish I would have gotten on before the hype, now it’s so tough to be the mayor of your favorite joint. Trust me, don’t be late to the party.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

FourSqaure not "Four" London yet!!

  • Posted by british_app_guru November 26, 2009
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Students, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I had seen this app on Twitter from some of the feeds I follow based in the states so I though I'd give it a go. There is no doubt this app has potential however it needs further investment in order for it to provide better utility for those of us in London. I can't tell you how many times I have to tell the app what bar/pub/restaurant or other locale I am at as the name did not appear in the drop-down menu. In addition the social networking aspect is lost due to the lack of users in London. How do I know? I became the "Mayor" of a popular pub I went to twice in a six week period. I addition when I at a popular location I look to see who else is there and always the answer has been none. I would recommend a few fixes to the makers of this app to ensure it becomes a winner. First I would look to invest in advertising in London to get the word out and second I would include any restaurant and drink specials from he nearby locations as a way to pull people in. A company that has done a good job in that regard is squaremeal.co.uk. They may make a good partnership for FourSquare in London. This app has great promise and could easily be 5 stars at some point in the future.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No


Recent Curated App Lists