User Reviews for: Foodspotting

Twohundred

Foodspotting

  • iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch
  • Category: Travel, Food & Drink
  • I own this app
3.0 of 5 bars
Submit your rating!

Mouth Watering

  • Posted by comfypandabear September 17, 2012
  • Recommended for Foodies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

Why do I use Foodspotting? I love taking pictures of restaurant meals and sharing them with people. Sometimes you really need to SEE a picture before you commit to spending money.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

make more food porn

  • Posted by girlgeek25 April 16, 2011
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Foodies, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

take and view photos of lovely dishes at restaurants in your area. yum!

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Foodspotting

  • Posted by doniree January 26, 2011
  • Recommended for Foodies

What a gorgeous app! And I love the creative way of sharing nearby food suggestions - by showing a photo of the food you're reviewing!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Foodspotting: Great Visual Guide To Good Food Near You

  • Posted by katrinah December 10, 2010
  • Recommended for Foodies or Social Butterflies

The Foodspotting app provides you with a visual guide to good food near you. I love using this app to discover new restaurants and cafes nearby. The app also enables you to contribute content to their site by using the iPhone's built-in camera to spot food and share recommendations and tips. Like other popular mobile geo-location apps, you can follow your Facebook and Twitter friends who are also on Foodspotting. In addition, you can follow types of food you may be interested in. It's a fun app: definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Delicious enough to share

  • Posted by jessicadally October 15, 2010
  • Recommended for Foodies

Spending years working at an upscale, trendy supermarket turned me into a foodie. Yes, I'm someone who will indeed talk about what I ate on facebook or share a picture of a beautiful meal. I'm that person.

But I'm not alone and I know it. My coworker Anna recently did a wordle on her facebook posts only to find that she talked about food the most. My other coworker Annie takes pictures of most meals (at least ones that look good). So this app is for them.

Sure, not every delicious bit of food is picture worthy, but this social food picture sharing app will at least show you what your dinner might look like. Does it seem inspiring and make you want to eat it now or is it boring and blah? More importantly for me is the dish covered in peppers? I'm allergic.

Sure, this app like all social apps will only fly if enough people use it but it is interesting enough to give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

This social network needs more users

  • Posted by dmichelsohn August 05, 2010
  • Recommended for Foodies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I really love the concept behind Foodspotting. Straight to the point, it shows you pics of (sometimes) deliciously looking dishes. The integration with Foursquare and Twitter is really cool too. But in my city there's not that many people using it. So it is kinda me and me playing...

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

FoodSpotting

  • Posted by lydia2 July 05, 2010
  • Recommended for Foodies, Parents, Students, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

FoodSpotting uses your location settings and scans for food! It includes user photos and ratings to help you make more informed choices. It also gives restaurant info and even the menu under the guides section. My only question is, where are the hours of operation? I'm sure this app must have it. It's just difficult to find it, or you have to go to the restaurants website.?

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Wipe the BBQ sauce off your lens

  • Posted by willardroad June 15, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors or Foodies

Cool idea, if you like food, taking pix, and social networking, all rolled into one. Plus side: I get to see pix of actual food at local restaurants, taken by actual patrons. Minus: I get to see really bad pictures of actual food (at least I think it's food) taken by patrons with suboptimal phone cameras and poor lighting. Food photography is an artform, one apparently not familiar to most of the participants in Foodspotting. Please note that I think it's a sorta-cool idea, so three-bars for that. But there's NO tutorial or help info within the app. You have to go to the website which, on the plus side is *packed* full of info. Apparently people earn points'n'stuff doing this. I'm guessing that's fun, if you like to go out a lot, and like to take pictures of your food, and fill out information, and upload it, and ...and ...and uh-oh, your meal's cold and your date walked out. Whoops. Did I mention you don't get to see menus or pricing? Hmmm.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

foodies dream app

  • Posted by joe_bidness May 28, 2010
  • Recommended for Foodies

Think of Foodspotting as a cross between Yelp and Urban Spoon, but focused on images more than reviews.

It's kind of a user-generated travel guide for people who enjoy eating. It's a simple concept that asks you to snap a photo of particularly good grub. You then upload the pic, describe the dish, and tag its location. You can view other people's photos, and pick a dining location based on a tasty looking dish.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No


Recent Curated App Lists