User Reviews for: Words With Friends Pro

Twohundred

Words With Friends Pro

  • iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch
  • Category: Entertainment, Games, Board, Word
  • I own this app
4.5 of 5 bars
Submit your rating!

Fun Game

Fun and addictive app. More fun to play with friends than strangers. The paid version is worth a few bucks to remove the ads. Pretty much Scrabble.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great game

One of the best game in the market. Just the IAP kinda expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just not a fan

  • Posted by johantetzel April 15, 2012
  • Recommended for News Junkies or Book Readers

...of anything that doesn't involve explosions and stuff.

bored.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love it!

  • Posted by jessicadally November 02, 2011
  • Recommended for Gamers or Social Butterflies

It's always fun playing games with friends, especially when you can do it on your own time, when convenient for you. That's Words With Friends.
Like Scrabble (exactly from what I can tell) this game lets you play back and forth with other friends all over the world. Play at your own pace and challenge yourself as you see fit.
The free version has ads but frankly they're pretty unobtrusive. If you love the game you might want to pony up for the paid version. At 99 cents it's not a huge cost.
If you love words, like games that make you think or just want to play with others without having to schedule time this is the app for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

kul

  • Posted by Raymor October 25, 2011
  • Recommended for Gamers

Cool App.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Words With Friends for iPhone

  • Posted by doniree July 14, 2011
  • Recommended for Gamers

I LOVE that you can play this game with anyone, anywhere. It's like Scrabble ALL THE TIME.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Highly recommended!

  • Posted by SportsAddict April 09, 2011
  • Recommended for Gamers, Parents, Students or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

I can never get enough of words with friends. I think what keeps me always wanting to play is trying to get the best possible words located right on top of triple or double words. It is such a great feeling when you get a word and your friends cringe at how many points you got. With that being said, I'm not the greatest, but I have improved over time.

The game has seemed to gotten slower over this most recent update (4.00). Gameplay is easy and the paid version of this app is so much better than the lite version. I had previously used the lite version, but the ads drove me crazy. I was fortunate to buy this app for $0.99 when it was on sale. Totally worth the money, but it doesn't seem to go on sale often.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

addicting to wordsmiths

  • Posted by babarakas March 02, 2011
  • Recommended for Book Readers or Students

This is a highly addicting game if you enjoy scrabble. And this ad-free version trumps the monetarily free version. You can play against random opponents or your friends. The only thing I would ask to be improved is the implementation of some sorta record keeping.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Words With Friends

  • Posted by MediaMaven January 31, 2011
  • Recommended for Gamers

I was having a blast with this app when I first got it. After one upgrade, I am no longer able to connect with friends to play a game. The invites go nowhere and the support is a canned response. I even went from the free version to the paid version to see if that would help. No luck yet. Too bad you can't get your money back in cases like this.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

addictive online word game...

  • Posted by Qas1m January 29, 2011
  • Recommended for News Junkies, Book Readers, Gamers, Parents, Students or Budget Hawks

This game is sooo incredibly addicting and is a real joy to play. It is basically an online version of Scrabble (but way better) and you can see the similarites. However, this game is a revolution on its own, taking the classic 'word game' category to a new level. My only issue is that there is no leaderboard or stats list at all... hopefully an update will fix this!

A must buy for any, and if your unsure, there is a ad supported free version that you try first!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

There's a reason this Scrabble-like game is tops!

  • Posted by worldharmony January 09, 2011
  • Recommended for Book Readers, Gamers, Social Butterflies or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

WWF, based on Scrabble, is a well-made app that allows you to play online (3g or wifi) with random strangers or your friends. You can also "pass and play" if you want to play with a buddy on a single device (might be good while you're waiting for a restaurant order).

I like the push notifications that let me know when it's my turn. I also like the new auto-resign update that allows games to end within 5 days (for random- player games) and 11 days (or invitation games) if a player "disappears" on you. Another nice feature is the chat screen. A badge alerts you to the presence of a message from your opponent. This is a nice way to send kudos or to get to know your opponent.

There are occasional glitches that have caused me to have to reboot the phone in order to continue play, or have even caused a game to disappear, but problems this drastic haven't happened in a couple of months as the developers address problems with this popular game. I have had an ongoing "tournament" with a former coworker on the West Coast for about four months now- I can't say how many games we've played to this point. WWF has proven to be a novel way for us to stay in touch with one another and even forge a friendship.

This is one of the best-designed word games for the iPhone. If you are looking for an opponent, I am Alli-D (often followed by an icon based on my current mood!)

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Games with Friends from Coast to Coast

LOVE THIS.

Some of my friends are in LA... Others NJ... Some Dallas... and I can play them anytime, and at my own leisure.

This game is fantastic because it makes me think. I do not feel as guilty stopping to drop a word when I get a few minutes to myself.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love it!

  • Posted by mushydoll November 27, 2010
  • Recommended for Gamers or Students

This is great fun to play!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It's the only game I always come back to!

  • Posted by joncan November 19, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Students or Career People

Unlike other games I get bored with eventually, this one I always come back to. I think it's because it involves competing with other people around the world, but also because it's at a casual pace. You play your turn whenever you have a dead moment in your day... So the game is always there when you need it!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

helooooooo

jdhfjs ksdjfkldsf jsdklf;sldf

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Words with Friends

Well worth paying for to avoid ads in free version.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love this game

I spend way too much time playing this. The fact that it's asynchronous is really nice. I can make a move whenever I have a few spare minutes. It's a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

More Addictive than Crack without all the Adverse Health aspects

  • Posted by willardroad August 28, 2010
  • Recommended for Road Warriors, Gamers, Parents, Students, Career People, Social Butterflies, Budget Hawks or Tech/Social Networking Junkies

It's Scrabble with people you know, people you don't know (online), or even people in the same room -- either by pass-n-play or device to device. I'm not a big Scrabble addict, but have found myself playing this quite a bit. Some games last days, because there's no timer and you can return to games minutes, hours or even days later. You can also have many games going at once -- and most Words players do. If you like word games, you will mostly definitely like Words With Friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Addicted

  • Posted by divinekd June 25, 2010
  • Recommended for Gamers or Social Butterflies

I love this game and have gotten several friends addicted as well! My husband, who doesn't have an iPhone, regularly takes my phone to play with my friends or starts a game with me. ;)))

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Highly Addictive

  • Posted by joe_bidness May 10, 2010
  • Recommended for Book Readers or Gamers

If you love scrabble, then you need words with friends. I'm pretty much addicted & have at least 5 games going at all times. The only issue I have is that it the app doesn't keep a record of your overall wins and losses. This is lame for 2 reasons... 1. If you start a game with a random opponent you have no way of knowing if they are a word master or a novice. 2. I'd just like to know my overall record - it's a fun part of the game to know if you're improving, or if you beat someone with a good record.

Besides that, this app is fantastic. If you want to start a game with me, my username is grits&gravy.

2 of 2 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Addiction

  • Posted by justatitch April 23, 2010
  • Recommended for Gamers

I love this game! It's so fun to be able to play with friends all over, and usually have 10+ games going. Love this app!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Scrabble

  • Posted by BrainSmashR April 11, 2010
  • Recommended for Gamers or Outdoors Enthusiasts

It's Scrabble....no other explaination needed

1 of 1 users found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Favourite app

  • Posted by nannyf January 17, 2010

Love it love it love it!
I get to play against my friends as well as random people.
The games last as long as you want, and due to time differences they last a while with me!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Awesome

  • Posted by jrmcwhorter January 12, 2010
  • Recommended for Parents

Cant put it down

Was this review helpful? Yes | No


Recent Curated App Lists